| Get surf report

Wavescape - Surfing in South Africa

Thu, 24 August 2017

You ain't seen nothing yet! After 8ft surf yesterday, surfers at the SA Champs at Nahoon are facing 15' wild and woolly conditions today and tomorrow.


ANGRY PURPLE: The entire ocean is heaving below South Africa. Photo Windy.com

The Mercedes-Benz SA Surfing Champs hosted by Buffalo City may have to move to the more protected Nahoon Corner, which is tucked away at the bottom of Nahoon Reef. Today goes giant, peaking this evening with sets likely to reach 18ft at 20 seconds. Yesterday, which was Day Two of the six-day event, surfers faced 6-8ft surf, strong winds and huge paddles.

There were outstanding performances with defending SA Open Men's Champion Greg Emslie raising the bar. The Buffalo City Surfriders team member was outstanding all day, with one of his waves scoring a massive 9.9. Emslie must be a favourite for the title in his division.

Other surfers who impressed in the Open Mens rounds and through to the quarter-finals are Llewellyn Whittaker and Dillon Marshall (both Eden), Devin Lane, Chris Frolich and Avuyle Ndamase (all eThekweni), Justin Sykes (iLembe), Justin Maisch and Cody Coetsee (both Ugu), Tyrell Johnson (Buffalo City), Brandon Benjamin (Cape Town) and Adin Masencamp (Cape Winelands).


TOUGH ENOUGH: Conditions will be twice this size later today. Photo Ian Thurtell

In the Womens' Division, 14 year Zoe Steyn (Buffalo City), the youngest surfer in the event, was a standout and has qualified for the quarters, where she is joined by Buffalo City team-mates Danica Stockigt, Tayla de Coning and Dayni Loots. Others to qualify are eight time SA Champn Heather Clark (Ugu), Maya Shefer Boswell and Cliodhna Keene O Connell (Cape Town), Samelikiswe Cele, Lynn Mackey and Olivia Brand ( eThekweni), Danielle Johnson (Cape Winelands), Tasha Mentasti (Eden) as well as Britney Linder and Rebecca Anderson ( Nelson Mandela Bay).

The Over 35 Mens Division got their first chance to surf yesterday in two rounds of hard-fought competition.  The 16 though to the quarters are Ian Duff, Sean Van Oettingen and Jonathan Trenor (iLembe), Jaco Kapp, Roland Suttie and Rene Terblanche (eThekweni), Etienne Potgieter and Paul Allan (NMB), Tyrell and Orrin and Stuart Fowles (Buffalo City), Neil Zietsman and Ryan Halkett (Cape Town), Llewellyn Whittaker (Eden), Jon Caswell (Cape Winelands) and Calvin Moore (Ugu).

All results and photos are updated daily at www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za.


Add comment

Please don't say anything you would not say to a real person, and please use your real name.

Security code

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Wavescape on Twitter

Thu Jun 14 12:01:10 +0000 2018

Check out this barrelfest edit from last winter by @rich1mages as we approach the dead of winter 2018.… https://t.co/UGxA1ZUTPN
Thu Jun 14 11:55:09 +0000 2018

The world’s longest running pro surfing event celebrates its 50th golden jubilee with more than half of the top 34… https://t.co/3s7YxPPzLw
Thu Jun 14 11:27:43 +0000 2018

In the 5th edit in Dylan Lightfoot's video series "J", Graham Hynes talks coaching, while with Thys Strydom we get… https://t.co/e1ZQnefjXp
Thu Jun 14 11:15:54 +0000 2018

Stormy seas will preside over an international field set for the Jordy Smith Cape Town Surf Pro, presented by O’Nei… https://t.co/fifpPhHYtT
Thu Jun 14 09:53:13 +0000 2018

A proper spate of winter ahead for the Cape over the next few days. In his latest video blog, @spike_wavescape exam… https://t.co/yUPQJuaHea
Thu Jun 14 09:49:05 +0000 2018

RT @WildlandsSA: The Tide is Turning https://t.co/0N1NqHs2YN via @WavescapeSA
Follow Wavescape on Twitter

Wavescape friends and partners Isiqalo Foundation DIFF CSIR Isiqalo Foundation Surfing  South Africa Save Our Seas Shark Centre Isiqalo Foundation Red Bull Media House DIFF National Sea Rescue Institute Shark Spotters ASP Africa