| Get surf report

Wavescape - Surfing in South Africa

Mon, 27 March 2017

Max Elkington claimed his 15th national title when he took the U16 Boys crown at the first event of the Billabong Junior Series at Loch Ness in Port Elizabeth yesterday. Photos Kody McGregor

013u16MaxElkington FinalDay_juniorseries

FOAM CUTTER: Max Elkington has nailed 15 national age group titles. Photo Kody McGregor

It was the first of four surfing events, presented by All Aboard Travel, that will crown champions in five age divisions for boys and girls in October. This year marks the 20th successive year the series has been held, and it started in good waves at the Pipe in Port Elizabeth on Saturday but small waves and onshore winds saw organisers move to the open ocean ‘wildside’ where the finals were completed in tricky head-high surf yesterday.

Elkington, 15, caught the best wave that came through in the final and belted a series of radical manoeuvres to register his sixth consecutive Billabong Junior Series event win, pocketing R1,200 and taking the early lead in the series rankings. Fellow Kommetjie resident Eli Beukes hung onto second place ahead of Bryce Du Preez (East London) and Dillon Hendriks (Jeffreys Bay) who were third and fourth respectively.


U16 GIRLS: Future stars in the making, and these events help. Photo Kody McGregor

In the U16 Girls’, Kayla Nogueira turned the tables on fellow Durbanite S’Nenhlanhla Makhubu (who won the series title last year) in a tightly fought duel where the winning points were scored on the last ride of the final. Tayla de Coning (East London) and Zoe Steyn (Kalk Bay) were the runners up.

The U14 Boys was another tight affair with Daniel Emslie, up from the U12 division last year, found the best backup wave after all four finalists registered one good ride each. Nate Spalding (Durban), Mitch du Preez (East London) and Travis Pearce finished in that order.

Kayla Nogueira secured her second title at the event when she dominated the U14 Girls division, winning each heat she contested including the final where the Durbanite finished in front of Lisa van Heerden (Strand) and Aimee du Preez (EL). Caroline Brown (CT) incurred a priority interference penalty that saw her lose one of her two counting rides and she dropped from second to fourth place.


NO FEAR: Zia Hendriks won the U12 girls division. Photo Kody McGregor

The U12 Boys title went to Kyra Bennie (Durban) who convincingly beat local pair Nathan Plomaritis and C-Jay Posthumus with Ethan Currin in fourth. The U12 Girls result was also affected by an interference call that saw Lisa van Heerden relegated to second spot behind winner Zia Hendriks, with Emma Bedser and Luanne Hurst collecting third and fourth places.

The newly introduced U10 division was completed in tricky waves at the Pipe before the event was moved and was dominated by Sergio Nogueira (Durban). Davey Emslie, Michael Russel and Josh Malherbe finished second to fourth in the youngest division in the series events, which is supported by Sea Harvest.

Luke Slijpen (Llandudno) boosted the best aerial manoeuvre during the VonZipper Airshow and took home R2,000 from the winner-takes all 30 minute heat, while Davey Emslie was awarded the Billabong Best Claim of the Contest and a hamper of Billabong products.


FOUR SCORE: The four finalists in the U16 boys pose on the podium. Photo Kody McGregor

U/16 Boys

1 Max Elkington (Kommetjie) R1,200
2 Eli Beukes (Kommetjie) R800
3 Bryce du Preez (East London) R600
4 Dillon Hendriks (Jeffreys Bay) R400

U/16 Girls
S1 Kayla Nogueira (Durban) R1,100
2 S’Nenhlanhla Makhubu (Durban) R750
3 Tayla de Coning (East London) R550
4 Zoe Steyn (Kalk Bay) R350

U/14 Boys
H1 Daniel Emslie (East London) R1,200
2 Nate Spalding (Durban) R800
3 Mitch du Preez (East London) R600
4 Travis Pearce (Cape Town) R400

U/14 Girls
1 Kayla Nogueira (Durban) R1,200
2 Lisa van Heerden (Strand) R750
3 Aimee du Preez (East London) R550
4 Caroline Brown (Cape Town) R400

U/12 Boys
1 Kyra Bennie (Durban) R1,200
2 Nathan Plomaritis (Port Elizabeth) R800
3 C-Jay Posthumus (Port Elizabeth) R600
4 Ethan Currin R400

U/12 Girls
1 Zia Hendriks (Jeffreys Bay) R1,000
2 Lisa van Heerden (Strand) R700
3 Emma Bedser R500
4 Luanne Hurst R300

1 Sergio Nogueira (Durban) R900
2 Davey Emslie (East London) R450
3 Michael Russel R350
4 Josh Malherbe (East London) R300

Specialty awards
VonZipper Airshow - R2 000 - Luke Slijpen (Llandudno)
Billabong - Best Claim of the Event – Product Hamper - Davey Emslie (East London)

Add comment

Please don't say anything you would not say to a real person, and please use your real name.

Security code

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Wavescape on Twitter

Thu Apr 19 21:30:19 +0000 2018

The shark "debate" (with lank hate) continues in the wake of the @wsl decision to can the #MargaretRiverPro.… https://t.co/oER96ufPD0
Thu Apr 19 21:17:53 +0000 2018

Shark huggers, cull callers, brazen Brazilians, angry Aussies, cynical sceptics and all manner of couch clowns are… https://t.co/gXoQgOV5hY
Wed Apr 18 17:27:05 +0000 2018

RT @sogoldschmidt: A difficult decision, but surfer and staff safety are paramount to the @WSL . The situation in Margaret River is unique…
Wed Apr 18 17:24:28 +0000 2018

RT @Oceana: Use your voice this #WhaleWednesday to help protect #whales, dolphins and other marine mammals. Tell your member of Congress…
Wed Apr 18 13:11:23 +0000 2018

What do you think of the WSL's decision to cancel the #MargaretRiverPro after two shark maulings 6kms from the cont… https://t.co/xkoY8arAms
Wed Apr 18 07:26:38 +0000 2018

In another bid to stave off what surely is inevitable - a proper shark encounter - the WSL has cancelled the Margar… https://t.co/J6RQVG2nCD
Follow Wavescape on Twitter

Wavescape friends and partners Isiqalo Foundation DIFF CSIR Isiqalo Foundation Surfing  South Africa Save Our Seas Shark Centre Isiqalo Foundation Red Bull Media House DIFF National Sea Rescue Institute Shark Spotters ASP Africa