| Get surf report

Wavescape - Surfing in South Africa

Sat, 30 September 2017

The opening rounds of the Billabong Junior Series presented by All Aboard Travel were completed in 3 foot waves fanned by strengthening offshore winds at Seal Point yesterday.

AyeGericke IanThurtell2

AYE BRU: Aye Gericke slashes one off the top at Seal Point yesterday. Photo Ian Thurtell

The fourth and final event in the 20th edition of the world’s longest running surf series for under 18 surfers will crown event and series champions in seven divisions, as well as the men’s and women’s WSL Africa junior champions and also determine who represents South Africa at the WSL World Junior Champs in Australia In January.

Billabong Junior Series and WSL Africa junior rankings leader Jake Elkington (Kommetjie) had to play catch-up in the first heat of the U18 boys when Bryce du Preez (East London) opened his account with a 6.50 and then added a 4.60. But Elkington showed the form that has earned him three event victories already this year to secure second place and advanced to Round 2 alongside du Preez.

There was a major upset in Heat 3 of the U18 boys when Angelo Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) was eliminated by Saxton Randall (Durban) and 14 year-old Mitch du Preez (East London). Faulkner had his sights set on victory at Seal Point, which would have seen him clinch a place in the WSL Africa squad for the World Junior Champs, but the J-Bay resident could only muster 10.17 points and was ousted when he placed third in the heat.

AngeloFaulkner IanThurtell

U18 UPSET: Angelo Faulkner was knocked out by Saxton Randall of Durban. Photo Thurtell

The U18 girls’ heats also produced an upset when Daniella Finlayson (Jeffreys Bay) grabbed victory ahead of second seed Taghiti Gericke (Wilderness). But order was restored when top seed Tayla de Coning (East London), Kai Woolf (Jeffreys Bay) and Summer Sutton (Kommetjie) comfortably won their heats and advanced to Round 2.

As the offshore wind strengthened, the U16 division delivered excellent competitive performances with the likes of Faulkner, Ryan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay), Aya Gericke (Wilderness) and newcomer George Pittar claiming heat wins in boys, while Woolf, Sutton and Gabi Lailvaux (Westbrook) stamped their authority in the girls heats.

The highly competitive U14 boy’s category lived up to its billing with East Londoners Mitch du Preez and Daniel Emslie joined by Durbanites Luke Thompson and James Ribbink as heat winners after hard fought battles. Meanwhile, the U12 boys, the youngest division in the series, continue to prove that the future of South African surfing is in good shape with series champion elect Kyra Bennie (Vredehoek) and fourth seed Kai Hall (Durban) emerging triumphant from their opening encounters along with newcomers Ryan Kainalo and Joel Dace.

The U14 girls were the only category not to compete on Friday and they will be first up when the event gets underway on Saturday in what is expected by slightly bigger surf and light winds for the semi-finals of all divisions.

Day1 1_020JamesRibbink_KodyMcGregor

RIBBINK RIPPING: James Ribbink looked good in the U14 boys division. Photo Kody McGregor

The Billabong Junior Series pres. by All Aboard Travel runs until Sunday when all the event and series champions will crowned at the awards ceremony on the beach. The U18 boys’ and girls’ series champions have the added incentive of winning a coveted trip to the tropical surfing paradise of Bali thanks to All Aboard Travel, while the exciting VonZipper Airshow rewards the Surfer landing the best aerial manoeuvre with a winner-takes-all R2,000 prize purse.

The Billabong Junior Series pres. by All Aboard Travel is supported by BOS, VonZipper, Zigzag, Surfing South Africa and the World Surf League.

 Billabong Web
Facebook: www.facebook.com/Billabong
Billabong Women’s: www.facebook.com/BillabongWomens
Hashtag: #BillabongJNR

Add comment

Please don't say anything you would not say to a real person, and please use your real name.

Security code

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Wavescape on Twitter

Sat Jul 14 11:05:06 +0000 2018

This was one of the great heats in surfing, not just because a Supertubes great was bowing out but because of three… https://t.co/HtZVwuu9BC
Fri Jul 13 17:54:46 +0000 2018

Huge pods of dolphins and pumping Supers delivered a sublime Friday 13 today to welcome the women back to J-Bay aft… https://t.co/fzOR0CkJRU
Fri Jul 13 12:06:45 +0000 2018

The soul of surfing is captured in the video edit from the 2018 edition of the Logjam, an Unconventional Surf Festi… https://t.co/JZWRXI6rfY
Fri Jul 13 12:06:26 +0000 2018

Bad luck @biancabuitendag It was a noble effort especially after almost pulling out with an excruciatingly painful… https://t.co/5K53tKs1T3
Fri Jul 13 11:25:31 +0000 2018

RT @spike_wavescape: @biancabuitendag on a beautiful wave earlier, on her way to a semifinal berth against @lakeypeterson up next in perfec…
Fri Jul 13 10:30:49 +0000 2018

RT @wsl: "Hey you guys down for a party wave?” “Dolphinately” 🐬 #CoronaOpenJBay @LakeyPeterson @corona https://t.co/H5h6pScJrA
Follow Wavescape on Twitter

Wavescape friends and partners Isiqalo Foundation DIFF CSIR Isiqalo Foundation Surfing  South Africa Save Our Seas Shark Centre Isiqalo Foundation Red Bull Media House DIFF National Sea Rescue Institute Shark Spotters ASP Africa