| Get surf report

Wavescape - Surfing in South Africa

Tue, 27 June 2017

The third in four Billabong Junior Series events takes place from today until Thursday and marks the start of the 13-day Ballito Pro Surf Festival on the KZN North Coast.


ANGELO ANGLE: Angelo Faulkner is one of the men's favourites. Photo WSL / Thurtell

The world’s longest running junior surfing series has nurtured the competitive careers of many local surfers including world #3 Jordy Smith and former WSL Championship Tour campaigners Bianca Buitendag, Travis Logie and Rosy Hodge, and current QS standouts Beyrick de Vries, Michael February and Matt McGillivray.

There has been cooking surf in KZN of late, particularly yesterday. The mid-winter conditions at Willard Beach in Ballito look small and clean with moderate N winds today, a glassy variable 3' day tomorrow and a bit more swell for Thursday after an overnight buster eases to glassy seas.

Presented by All Aboard Travel, the third junior event features SA surfers aged under 18, with a contingent of international competitors. Points earned in the Under 18 JQS1,000 events for men and women count towards the annual WSL Africa titles and the selection of four men and two women to represent the region at the WSL World Junior Championships in Australia in January.


ZOE SEA: Zoe McDougall must have broken WSL records with 3 from 4. Photo WSL / Thurtell

The 3A rated Surfing South Africa (SSA) events for U16, U14 and U12 boys and girls count towards the 2017 South African Surf Tour (SAST) 2017 titles. All the events offer prize money with the points earned over the four events determining the prestigious Billabong Junior Series champions.

Jake Elkington (Kommetjie) heads the seeding for the JQS1,000 men’s event after a stellar 2017 season in which he has reached the final in five of six events, winning three. But 2016 series champion and defending Ballito winner Adin Masencamp (Strand) will be determined to improve on his second place in the rankings at this event. And both face tough challengers in the form of the Faulkner brothers – Joshe and Angelo – from Jeffreys Bay and Cody Young who is ranked sixth on the Hawaiian junior leaderboard after finals appearances at Pipeline and Sunset Beach.

The JQS1,000 women’s event will provide an intriguing battle between defending Ballito champion Zoe McDougall (HAW), No. 3 ranked Australian junior Sophia Fulton and local stars Sophie Bell from nearby Salt Rock, two-time JQS winner Kayla Nogueira (uMhlanga) and Kirsty McGillivray (JBay).


FULLY FULTON: Sophia Fulton has looked good in the leadup to the event. Photo WSL / Thurtell

In the U16 boys, Max Elkington (Kommetjie) has won six consecutive Billabong Junior titles but the likes of fellow Capetonians Eli Beukes and the rapidly improving Luke Slijpen along with Bryce du Preez (East London) and Dillen Hendricks (Jeffreys Bay) are hungry for victory.

Kayla Nogueira is the favourite for the U16 title after a phenomenal run of results this year while Zoe Steyn (Kalk Bay) and Nate Spalding (Durban) top the current U14 girls and boy’s rankings with Kyra Bennie (Durban) having won two out of two in the U12 boys.

Presenting sponsor All Aboard Travel have provided tickets to Bali for the overall series winners of the U18 Men’s and Women’s events. BOS Ice Tea have taken the title sponsorship for the second event in the series, the BOS Cape Crown presented by Billabong in Cape Town in May.


BELL RING: Sophie Bell is part of a formidable women's lineup. Photo WSL / Thurtell

The heat draws for U18 events can be found on www.worldsurfleague.com with the provisional Event Schedule (subject to change) and the heat draws for all the other events available at http://www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za

The Billabong Junior Series is supported by All Aboard Travel, BOS, VonZipper and Zigzag.

The U18 events are sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL) with the U16, U14 and U12 events sanctioned by Surfing South Africa (SSA), the governing body for the sport of surfing in South Africa.

The Ballito Pro Surf Festival runs from 27 June to 9 July and includes the Billabong Junior Series pres. by All Aboard Travel, the SSA Ballito Trials pres. by Billabong, the QS1,000 Ballito Women’s Pro pres. by Billabong and the QS10,000 Ballito Pro pres. by Billabong.

Add comment

Please don't say anything you would not say to a real person, and please use your real name.

Security code

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Wavescape on Twitter

Tue Jun 19 13:30:28 +0000 2018

Desmond And The Tutus, Shadowclub, aKing and other big acts are going to be rocking the JBay Winterfest during the… https://t.co/ZFEdXg77fz
Tue Jun 19 10:45:22 +0000 2018

History will be made in Port Elizabeth this weekend with the news that the women's event has been upped to a QS3,00… https://t.co/EAiSW3WcPf
Tue Jun 19 08:53:39 +0000 2018

Former world bodyboarding champ Andre Botha dodges a bullet in firing Namibia a few days ago, with the other guy a… https://t.co/FCE6EufHNk
Mon Jun 18 13:18:34 +0000 2018

The Cape of Storms lived up to her tumultous title when she offered every element of winter at the Jordy Smith even… https://t.co/Q2vbU3mDQS
Mon Jun 18 12:45:32 +0000 2018

Australian surfer Jordan Lawler says South Africans are so nice, they helped him win the men's division of the Jord… https://t.co/OJflMFNRLq
Thu Jun 14 12:01:10 +0000 2018

Check out this barrelfest edit from last winter by @rich1mages as we approach the dead of winter 2018.… https://t.co/UGxA1ZUTPN
Follow Wavescape on Twitter

Wavescape friends and partners Isiqalo Foundation DIFF CSIR Isiqalo Foundation Surfing  South Africa Save Our Seas Shark Centre Isiqalo Foundation Red Bull Media House DIFF National Sea Rescue Institute Shark Spotters ASP Africa