| Get surf report

Wavescape - Surfing in South Africa

Thu, 22 December 2016

Organisers have released the final list of 32 surfers and alternates invited to surf in the Cell C Goodwave WSL Specialty surf contest in Durban next year.


TUBULAR TIMES: Organisers want to run the event on a day like this. Photo Patflan

They say that the list is an "exciting mix of old school chargers and new school wizardry". The event takes place at New Pier, Durban, on one of those days that delivers sublime waves and epic surf at the iconic surf spot. That day will be called with the assistance of swell forecaster Spike from www.wavescape.co.za 

The tournament has a one-year waiting period. When the forecast for New Pier looks excellent, the one-day contest will be called on with a 48-hour notice, and these selected surfers will need to make their way to Durban for an early morning start on the day of competition. 

Apart from the 32 surfers invited there will also be 32 alternate surfers. Contest organizers are also willing to accept walk-ups on the day. The selection criteria for the invitees were good experience and a solid reputation at the New Pier when the waves get solid.

The 32 invited surfers are, in no order:

1. Brandon Jackson
2. Matt MacGillivray
3. Dale Staples
4. Shane Sykes
5. Mikey February
6. Josh Redman
7. Damien Fahrenfort
8. Dan Redman
9. Mike Frew
10. Simon Nicholson
11. Gavin Roberts
12. Frankie Oberholzer
13. Matt Bromley
14. Davey Weare
15. Grant Baker
16. Chris Leppan
17. Sean Holmes
18. Ricky Basnett
19. Jason Ribbink
20. Beyrick de Vries
21. Gary van Wieringen
22. Dylan Lightfoot
23. Chad du Toit
24. Brendan O’Connor
25. Warwick Wright
26. Noel Rahme
27. Casey Grant
28. Paul Canning
29. Richard Kidd
30. Davey van Zyl
31. Robbie Schofield
32. Greg Emslie

Alternates, in no order:
Secret International VIP, Alan Johns, Josh Smit, Jordy Maree, Adin Jeenes, Simon Fish, Joshe Faulkner, Matt Pallet, Stever Sawyer, Dylan Stewart, Lee Bisset, Scott Venter, Billy Payne, Scott Hamilton, Ryan Payne, Sam Christianson, Derek Footit, Ben Dancaster, Bevan Willis, Koby Oberholzer, Antonio Bortoletto, Manfred Adrio, Wes O'Driscoll, Elton Cuthbert, Andrew Lange, Blane Wood, Chris Frolich, Wade Simkiss, Rene Terblanche, Frank Solomon, Mikhael 'MK' Vawda, Andrew Banks..


Steve Haag
0 #2 snapperSteve Haag 2016-12-28 15:06
when? how can we find out?
Mark Gardner
0 #1 Shane Thorne?Mark Gardner 2016-12-28 07:13
Shane Thorne?

Wavescape on Twitter

Southern Cape -- A purple period of peopling eating pumpery starts Friday which is fresh W and feathered 6' sur... https://t.co/74AzULj6DN
Cape Peninsula -- // Mild bumpy west onshores blow Friday to mess with a 4-6' west swell. Would be super fun wi... https://t.co/oaAtnBGrIh
West Coast -- Nice clean early start Friday with 4-5' surf @ 13sec and a light SW onshore worsens a bit. Bumpy ... https://t.co/fotZOfT4GB
John John Florence can win the world title in Portugual. He did last year. Yikes! If not, seven other surfers c... https://t.co/8S6xoO4Ie3

Wavescape friends and partners Isiqalo Foundation DIFF CSIR Isiqalo Foundation Surfing  South Africa Save Our Seas Shark Centre Isiqalo Foundation Red Bull Media House DIFF National Sea Rescue Institute Shark Spotters ASP Africa