| Get surf report

Wavescape - Surfing in South Africa

Mon, 26 June 2017

Brazilian Alex Ribeiro and Hawaiian Zoe McDougall took back-to-back wins in South Africa when they won the Jordy Smith Cape Town Pro presented by O'Neill in cranking 6' surf at Melkbos yesteday.


CAPE TOWN PROS: Sponsor Jordy Smith with Zoe and Alex after their win. Photo Ian Thurtell

Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) was the only South African winner at the event, successfully defending the junior men’s crown he won last year, while Sophia Fulton (AUS) grabbed her second victory in the past three weeks by dominating the junior women’s final

Ribeiro added this week’s World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) 1,000 win to his victory in the QS3,000 Volkswagen SA Open of Surfing in Durban last weekend, which sees the former Championship Tour (CT) surfer jump three places to No. 2 on the QS rankings.

Up against close friend and travelling companion Marcos Correa (BRA) in the final, Ribeiro shot into a commanding lead as a growing swell pushed the wave heights up to six feet. Finding the only high scoring left of the event, an 8.67, Ribeiro had his opponent in a combo within 10 minutes and Correa still needed 15.68 points when the 25 minute heat ended.


JUNIOR JOSHE: Joshe Faulkner was the only Saffa on the podium. Photo Ian Thurtell

McDougall, who has won no less than four events in South Africa this year, overcame an uncharacteristically sluggish performance in the junior women’s final to dominate the women’s final, racking up scores of 7.83 and 6.67 for a 14.50 heat total that her opponents, Camilla Kemp (PRT), Nicole Pallet (La Lucia) and Reiki Noro (JPN) were unable to match.

Joshe Faulkner was ecstatic to return to the winners circle at the junior men’s event he won last year. The lanky JBay teenager stayed busy through the final, riding a total of 13 waves in the 25 minutes, and took the lead from Liam O’Brien (AUS) with a high-risk aerial that netted him an excellent 8.87.

With Joao Chianca (BRA) threatening the lead, Faulkner posted a 7.0 on his twelfth ride to seal the victory ahead of Chianca, O’Brien and his brother Angelo.


RIBEIRO REPEAT: Alex Ribeiro has leapfrogged to second place on the QS. Photo Ian Thurtell

The junior women’s final was the first to run as the swell started filling in and became a nail-biting contest as the top three were separated by less than half a point. It was Fulton’s opening ride of 7.33 that prevailed when the last rides of both fellow Australian Pacha Luque-Light and McDougall fell agonizingly short of overhauling the leader. Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) struggled to find waves with scoring potential in the final and finished fourth.

The presence of event sponsor and current world No. 3, Jordy Smith, drew throngs of spectators to the event and he put his signature on everything from surfboards to T-Shirts and posters before presiding at the awards ceremony.


SOLE ZOE: Zoe McDougall has won three titles in two consecutive events. Photo Ian Thurtell

The outreach programmes conducted by Surfing South Africa (SSA) at the each of the five events in the City Surf Series formed an important part of the activities, enabling young surfers from various backgrounds to participate in the international events. Comprising beach activities, water coaching, a tag team contest and beach relays the initiatives were presented by the Surfers With Original Talent (SWOT) organisation headed by Danielle Johnson.

Full results, news, photos and videos will be available at www.worldsurfleague.com and on the WSL App, which is a free download.

The Jordy Smith Cape Town Surf Pro is proudly supported by O’Neill, City of Cape Town, Tsogo Sun, Skullcandy, El Jimador, Yesman, Red Bull, World Surf League, Surfing South Africa and Accelerate Sport.


FULL ON: Sophia Fulton won the QS1,000 junior women's event. Photo Ian Thurtell

Men’s Final Results
1. Alex Ribeiro (Brazil) 15.67 R12,000 1,000 pts
2. Marcos Correa (Brazil) 10.43 R 6,000 750 pts

Women’s Final Results
1. Zoe McDougall (Hawaii) 14.05 R8,000 1,000 pts
2. Camilla Kemp (Portugal) 8.37 R4,000 750 pts
3. Nicole Pallet (La Lucia) 8.13 R2,500 560 pts
4. Reiki Noro (Japan) 7.33 R2,000 525 pts

Junior Men’s JQS1,000 Final Results
1. Joshe Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) 15.83 R8,000 1,000 pts
2. Joao Chianca (Brazil) 14.27 R4,000 750 pts
3. Liam O’Brien (Australia) 11.53 R2,500 560 pts
4. Angelo Faulkner (Jeffreys Bay) 9.27 R2,000 525 pts

Junior Women’s JQS1,000 Final Results
1. Sophia Fulton (Australia) 10.10 R4,000 1,000 pts
2. Pacha Luque-Light (Australia) 10.00 R2,000 750 pts
3. Zoe McDougall (Hawaii) 9.70 R1,110 560 pts
4. Sophie Bell (Salt Rock) 3.64 R 900 525 pts

Add comment

Please don't say anything you would not say to a real person, and please use your real name.

Security code

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Wavescape on Twitter

Thu Jun 14 12:01:10 +0000 2018

Check out this barrelfest edit from last winter by @rich1mages as we approach the dead of winter 2018.… https://t.co/UGxA1ZUTPN
Thu Jun 14 11:55:09 +0000 2018

The world’s longest running pro surfing event celebrates its 50th golden jubilee with more than half of the top 34… https://t.co/3s7YxPPzLw
Thu Jun 14 11:27:43 +0000 2018

In the 5th edit in Dylan Lightfoot's video series "J", Graham Hynes talks coaching, while with Thys Strydom we get… https://t.co/e1ZQnefjXp
Thu Jun 14 11:15:54 +0000 2018

Stormy seas will preside over an international field set for the Jordy Smith Cape Town Surf Pro, presented by O’Nei… https://t.co/fifpPhHYtT
Thu Jun 14 09:53:13 +0000 2018

A proper spate of winter ahead for the Cape over the next few days. In his latest video blog, @spike_wavescape exam… https://t.co/yUPQJuaHea
Thu Jun 14 09:49:05 +0000 2018

RT @WildlandsSA: The Tide is Turning https://t.co/0N1NqHs2YN via @WavescapeSA
Follow Wavescape on Twitter

Wavescape friends and partners Isiqalo Foundation DIFF CSIR Isiqalo Foundation Surfing  South Africa Save Our Seas Shark Centre Isiqalo Foundation Red Bull Media House DIFF National Sea Rescue Institute Shark Spotters ASP Africa