| Get surf report

Wavescape - Surfing in South Africa

Thu, 14 June 2018

The world’s longest running pro surfing event celebrates its 50th golden jubilee with more than half of the top 34 on the Championship Tour pulling into Ballito this month.

smith j8581ballito17cestari_n

REIGNING CHAMP: Jordy Smith on his way to winning it last year. Photo WSL / Cestari

The first World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) 10,000 rated event of the year, the Ballito Pro presented by Billabong, takes place from June 25 to 1 July and features a 112 man field that also includes the top 32 on the QS rankings, including current rankings leader Alejo Muniz (BRA) who will be gunning for a second title to add to his 2015 crown.

The CT contingent is led by Willian Cardoso (BRA) whose 8,000 point haul for his runner-up finish at Willard Beach last year contributed significantly to the him qualifying for 2018. Cardoso secured a sensational maiden CT event win at the Uluwatu CT in Bali this week and will come into Ballito ranked #5 on the Jeep Leaderboard.

Defending event winner, Durban’s own Jordy Smith, is in great form after charging into the Top 10 on the CT leaderboard with back-to-back third and fifth place finishes in the recent events in Bali. Smith loves competing in front of his legions of hometown fans and is determined to become the first three-time winner of the event since fellow Durbanite Shaun Tomson won an unsurpassed six consecutive titles from 1973 to 1978.

Cardoso DX25092_Uluwatu18_Sloane

SPRAY ON: Willian Cardoso is fresh off his win at Uluwatu and is firing. Photo WSL / Sloane

Other internationally renowned CT stars include former winners Connor O’Leary (AUS) and Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Frenchmen Jeremy Flores and Joan Duru, Brazilians Yago Dora and Michael Rodrigues, Kanoa Igarashi who now represents Japan, and exciting rookie Griffin Colapinto (USA).

South Africa’s contingent includes Michael February, who became the first local to join Jordy Smith in the CT ranks after his fairytale run to the semi-finals in Ballito last year, uMhlanga local Beyrick de Vries and current WSL Africa rankings leader David van Zyl (Glenashley).

Another two locals will receive wildcards based on their Qualifying Series rankings after the QS1,000 rated Jordy Smith Cape Town Surf Pro presented by O’Neill this weekend. And the wildcard formerly awarded to the winner of the Ballito Trials will be allocated to the highest placed local on the WSL Africa QS rankings who has not already qualified.

february m8317uluwatu18cestari_mm

CONSOLIDATION: Mikey February will want to consolidate some points. Photo WSL / Cestari

QS #10 Matt McGillivray (Jeffreys Bay) is the highest ranked South African and a certainty for one of the wildcards, while the other two coveted spots will be determined in a see-saw battle between the likes of Capetonians Adin Masencamp and Jordy Maree, Shane Sykes (Salt Rock) and Dylan Lightfoot (Jeffreys Bay).

“This is one of the strongest fields for the Ballito Pro presented by Billabong that I’ve seen since it moved to Ballito in 2009,” said WSL Africa Operations Manager Colin Fitch. “The 50th anniversary event has created huge anticipation and there has been a really positive build up with five WSL events already held all over the coastline this year.”

The Ballito Pro pres. by Billabong runs from Monday to Sunday, June 25 to 2 July, and offers a total prize-purse of US $258,000 (approx. R3.35 million) of which just over R500,000 and a massive 10,000 precious ranking points go to the winner.

The Ballito Pro pres. by Billabong is the highlight event in the Ballito Pro Surf Festival, a 10-day celebration of beach culture that includes the 21st edition of the Junior Qualifying Series (JQS) Billabong Junior Series pres. by BOS from June 22-24 and the QS1,000 Ballito Women’s Pro pres. by Billabong that runs in conjunction with the Men’s QS10,000 event.

Rodrigues DX24452_Uluwatu18_Sloane

GOING LARGE: Michael Rodrigues is another CT surfer to look out for. Photo WSL / Sloane

Surfers-Circle-Walk-of-Fame-19-Mar-2017-030International surfing legend Shaun Tomson, the1977 World Surfing Champion and now a globally acclaimed motivational speaker, author and film-maker, will headline the 50th anniversary celebrations. Tomson will conduct a Positive Wave Tour driven by SMG Rocks that visits schools in KwaDukuza in the lead up to and during the event and culminates in 67 minutes of service at a selected school on July 18, the 100th anniversary of the birth of Nelson Mandela.

He will also be the guest of honour at the ‘Live the Legacy’ awards evening at Coco Der Mer and he will host a screening of his highly celebrated film ‘Bustin Down the Door’, covering the founding of the world professional surfing circuit during themed 1970’s, during the Retro Jubilee Food & Wine presented by Ballito Junction.

Alongside the surfing, visitors will be spoiled for choice with non-stop activities providing even more entertainment throughout the Ballito festival site. South Africa's hottest musical acts appealing to all tastes - rock, pop, hip hop, kwaito, electro and dance - will be performing live on Salt Rock Beach over the last weekend. Beach and extreme sports, culinary contests as well as quality retail and food stalls will captivate visitors at this coastal holiday highlight.

For more information, visit:
Website: www.theballitopro.com
Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/theballitopro/
Twitter: www.twitter.com/TheBallitoPro
Instagram: www.instagram.com/TheBallitoPro
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/theballitopro
Snapchat: Username – TheBallitoPro
Hashtag: #LiveTheLegacy

The Ballito Pro pres. by Billabong is proudly supported by the KwaDukuza Municipality, Billabong, Capitec Bank, Casio G-Shock, Ballito Junction Regional Mall, Coco Der Mer, 5FM, SMG Rocks, Monster Energy, Zigzag Surfing Magazine, World Surf League (WSL) and Surfing South Africa (SSA).

Add comment

Please don't say anything you would not say to a real person, and please use your real name.

Security code

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Wavescape on Twitter

Sun Nov 18 13:07:10 +0000 2018

What a way to end your career, although he could even take the Vans Triple Crown. Joel Parko just won the Hawaiian… https://t.co/m8qMgIOaBy
Sun Nov 18 10:24:11 +0000 2018

RT @Sally_Fitz: Yeahhhh Parko Huge Congrats🤙 https://t.co/MUtQgdDmkh
Sat Nov 17 11:36:10 +0000 2018

Tickets on sale for the @spike_wavescape Swell Course that takes us into giant storms to see how waves are made. Ge… https://t.co/xtvd3eNW88
Sat Nov 17 10:09:51 +0000 2018

Jordy Smith is the last Saffa standing in the Hawaiian Pro, with Davey van Zyl and Mikey February knocked out in Ro… https://t.co/Vs9s9hp1L6
Fri Nov 16 17:04:10 +0000 2018

Here is a gallery of photos from a stupendous day down at the mighty A-Frame of Nazare for the first event of the W… https://t.co/q3hxH495B4
Fri Nov 16 14:55:38 +0000 2018

Grant Twiggy Baker is the champion of the Nazare Challenge after a risk-taking blast of big wave surfing in huge Na… https://t.co/MmqZOMyZ6K
Follow Wavescape on Twitter

Wavescape friends and partners Isiqalo Foundation DIFF CSIR Isiqalo Foundation Surfing  South Africa Save Our Seas Shark Centre Isiqalo Foundation Red Bull Media House DIFF National Sea Rescue Institute Shark Spotters ASP Africa