Mon, 26 August 2019

The surf was kiff and clean 3-5' and mildly fun to watch last night but it was at least 10 snapped boards and a dinged head away from the real Place of Broken Skulls, writes Spike.

Smith JTahiti19Dunbar4269

LEAN AND MEAN: Jordy slips into a sweet tube that banked him a good score. Photo WSL / Dunbar

Jordy Smith survived a slightly nervy first elimination heat in the Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o presented by Hurley to dispatch local wildcard Matahi Drollet from the event. It was a pity it had to be the upcoming local. He comes good when Chopes gets proper, but had to bow out before he could prove himself.

A rigorous test of a person's capacity to girdle the gut-wrenchThe surf was kiff clean 3-5' but definitely 10 snapped boards and a dinged pate away from the real Place of Broken Skulls. The real Chopes, when the earth shakes and people palpitate in terror as a hump-backed blue monster tries to head-butt the earth's tectonic plates into parting, provides a rigorous test of a surfer's capacity to girdle his gut-wrench.

We'll see when the predicted swell hits, which looks like this Sunday 1 August. I see that a 1.5m x 18 second swell arrives lunch today ZA time, which is 10pm tonight in Tahiti, so a few waves tomorrow. However, the only proper swell forecast would appear to be for Sunday, when it could be six foot or a bit bigger. No gangbusting swells on the horizon that I can see.

CATHEDRAL OF HORROR: Chopes will not reach this level of carnage this year. I am relieved.

In the meantime, event number 7 on the CT was benign and at a push, mildly entertaining. So far, event wildcards Drollet (PYF) and Tyler Newton (HAW) are out. Drollet failed to find a good backup against a dominant Sebastian Zietz (HAW), and a trimmed down Smith. The big guy is looking sharp after losing some weight and working out.

’Next time I put on a jersey, I hope it will be the real-deal Teahupo’o’"Next time I put on a jersey, I hope it will be the real-deal Teahupo’o," said Zietz. "There is a super west swell forecast. Mixed reports on how it will be but I think either way it will be pretty gnarly and it will be fun. Super bummed Matahi (Drollet) lost. I am sure he was looking forward to getting some heavy Teahuop’o. I almost wanted to let him go on that last wave but then I couldn’t do that to Jordy (Smith), and he is also a super scary guy to draw later when it is heavy."

Injury replacement Caio Ibelli from Brazil survived in second place behind Aussie Ryan Callinan to force Newton from the draw. Funnily enough, Ibelli has joined South African-made accessories and "all-round fun brand" RYD on a long-term partnership that will see him using their accessories, including traction, fins, leashes and board bags.

According to RYD Found Barend Buys, director at RYD, its all about promoting good vibes, and Ibelli is "a great guy with such a good attitude". Ibelli sits 22nd in the world and on the razor edge for requalification next year. He needs results to ensure he does that, and will be hungry.

Ibelli CTahiti19Dunbar4434

GOOD OKE: Ibelli has signed a deal with RYD, the SA accessories brand. Photo WSL / Dunbar

Tahiti’s Bourez narrowly survived his elimination heat against injury replacement Frederico Morais (PRT). The close heat saw less than two points separate heat-winner Peterson Crisanto (BRA) from third-place finisher Morais, who now leaves in Equal 33rd place. Bourez and Crisanto advance to the Round of 32, where they will face Zeitz and Seth Moniz (HAW), respectively.

Brazilian Michael Rodrigues was kapped by compatriot Jesse Mendes and American Conner Coffin to dish out his first 33rd place of 2019 which makes 2020 requalification a bit dodgy. He has an event in fresh water next to cement some results. He must be thrilled.

The call for the Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o presented by Hurley is made at 7am tomorrow (10am tonight ZAF time). See wwww.WorldSurfLeague.com

Desouza ATahiti19Dunbar4643

TWO TO TANGO: Adriano de Souza tucks into another tight little tube. Photo WSL / Dunbar

Hobgood Showdown in WSL Heritage Heat
Former CT standouts CJ Hobgood, 2001 World Champion, and his boet Damien, 2007 Tahiti Pro winner, are in Tahiti to compete in a WSL Heritage Heat. The twin brothers were long-time standouts at Tehaupo’o, but never competed against each other. The heat will be scheduled during the main event.

Glowing Glowing Gone
Cool to see that WSL has collaborated with ‘Glowing Glowing Gone’, a global campaign advocating for greater funding and action for coral reef conservation by highlighting the global danger signaled by fluorescing corals. The collaboration features a complete takeover of the Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o presented by Hurley event branding to incorporate the exact colors of fluorescing corals, in addition to WSL’s support of Coral Gardeners, a youth-led non-profit organization that is actively restoring coral reefs in the area. Visit www.WSLPURE.org


CORAL PLANTING: The only way to repair the damage is to repair the damage. Photo WSL / Dunbar

Round 2 Results
 Heat 1: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 14.40 DEF. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 11.87, Matahi Drollet (PYF) 9.57
Heat 2: Ryan Callinan (AUS) 12.50 DEF. Caio Ibelli (BRA) 8.74, Tyler Newton (HAW) 6.57
Heat 3: Peterson Crisanto (BRA) 11.50 DEF. Michel Bourez (FRA) 11.33, Frederico Morais (PRT) 10.17
Heat 4: Conner Coffin (USA) 15.43 DEF. Jesse Mendes (BRA) 9.93, Michael Rodrigues (BRA) 6.66

Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o pres. by Hurley Round of 32 Matchups
 Heat 1: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Deivid Silva (BRA)
Heat 3: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Soli Bailey (AUS)
Heat 4: Michel Bourez (FRA) vs. Sebastian Zietz (HAW)
Heat 5: Italo Ferreira (BRA) vs. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Heat 6: Joan Duru (FRA) vs. Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 7: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Ricardo Christie (NZL)
Heat 8: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Yago Dora (BRA)
Heat 9: Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Kauli Vaast (FRA)
Heat 10: Wade Carmichael (AUS) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 11: Ryan Callinan (AUS) vs. Griffin Colapinto (USA)
Heat 12: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
Heat 13: Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Jesse Mendes (BRA)
Heat 14: Seth Moniz (HAW) vs. Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
Heat 15: Conner Coffin (USA) vs. Caio Ibelli (BRA)
Heat 16: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Jack Freestone (AUS)

Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o Past Winners
2018: Gabriel Medina (BRA)
2017: Julian Wilson (AUS)
2016: Kelly Slater (USA)
2015: Jeremy Flores (FRA)
2014: Gabriel Medina (BRA)
2013: Adrian Buchan (AUS)
2012: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2011: Kelly Slater (USA)
2010: Andy Irons (HAW)
2009: Bobby Martinez (USA)
2008: Bruno Santos (BRA)
2007: Damien Hobgood (USA)
2006: Bobby Martinez (USA)
2005: Kelly Slater (USA)
2004: C.J. Hobgood (USA)
2003: Kelly Slater (USA)
2002: Andy Irons (HAW)
2001: Cory Lopez (USA)
2000: Kelly Slater (USA)
1999: Mark Occhilupo (AUS)

Add comment

Please don't say anything you would not say to a real person, and please use your real name.

Security code

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio


Mon Dec 09 12:04:50 +0000 2019

Get your copy of Surfing in South Africa by @spike_wavescape on Christmas Special - only 180 bucks. No postage if y… https://t.co/WzPJh7y0Qx
Fri Dec 06 14:45:10 +0000 2019

Congratulations to Cape Town born and bred @jewpenis for winning the SURFER Awards Movie of the Year for his featur… https://t.co/VKSgFm8B1s
Fri Dec 06 10:33:34 +0000 2019

Congrats tristan_van_dam on winning this kiff surfboard from keepitsimplesurf at Clifton 4th Beach Saturday! Well… https://t.co/FhxZA0oPSe
Fri Dec 06 08:59:39 +0000 2019

The story of one of the greatest surfers, and surfing rivalries, that ever existed. The Andy Irons story - tonight… https://t.co/Ersgg5XrfQ
Follow Wavescape on Twitter