- https://www.wavescape.co.za/latest-on.html Thu, 15 Nov 2018 11:01:30 +0200 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management - Version 2.5.28 en-gb Hawaiian Highs https://www.wavescape.co.za/photos/featured-slideshows/hawaiian-highs.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/photos/featured-slideshows/hawaiian-highs.html masencamp-1200-th

Thursday 12 March 2017

A goodly contingent of Saffas are contesting the QS10,000 Hawaiian Pro, which is the first event in the Vans Triple Crown. Here's the photo highlights from Round 1 at Haleiwa, North Shore.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Featured Slideshows Photos Tue, 13 Nov 2018 14:53:51 +0200
Free to Be https://www.wavescape.co.za/video/the-latest-clips/free-to-be.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/video/the-latest-clips/free-to-be.html mikeyfeb-1200-th

Tuesday 13 November 2018

Loving this epic little video clip by the talented Capetonian Tao Farren-Hefer who was commissioned by SURFER to showcase the style and skill of Mikey February.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Video Video Tue, 13 Nov 2018 14:08:43 +0200
Big Wave Time https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/big-wave-time.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/big-wave-time.html bigwavenight-1200-th

Friday 9 November 2018

The Wavescape Surf and Ocean Festival has partnered with a unique project this year: the biggest collection of big wave surfboards seen in South Africa under one roof, writes Spike.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Breaking News News Sat, 10 Nov 2018 11:16:54 +0200
An Odd Odyssey https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/an-odd-odyssey.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/an-odd-odyssey.html odyssey-1200-th

Wednesday 21 March 2017

This odyssey involves a surfboard belonging to a young man called Odd that was lost at sea south of Cape Town, only to be found three months later ... in Namibia. Dougal Paterson tells the story.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Breaking News News Thu, 08 Nov 2018 18:15:50 +0200
Spike Swell Course is Back https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/spike-swell-course-is-back.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/spike-swell-course-is-back.html swellcourse-620-th

Tuesday 6 November 2018

Pull into the Spike Swell & Ocean Course on Thursday 22 November at the Sports Science Institute in Newlands, Cape Town. Spike returns for a new edition of his fascinating audio-visual lecture.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Breaking News News Tue, 06 Nov 2018 17:02:56 +0200
Festival Focus on Big Waves https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/festival-focus-on-big-waves.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/festival-focus-on-big-waves.html wavescapeartwork2018-1200-th

Monday 5 November 2018

The Wavescape Surf & Ocean Festival 2018 has announced a focus on big waves while welcoming Cape Town craft beer company Jack Black as their headline partner for 2018.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Breaking News News Mon, 05 Nov 2018 17:22:13 +0200
Junior Highlights https://www.wavescape.co.za/photos/featured-slideshows/junior-highlights.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/photos/featured-slideshows/junior-highlights.html junior-highilights-1200

Monday 5 November 2018

Here are some highlights from the VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship held at Huntington Beach pier over the last eight days. South Africa took 8th out of 44 nations.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Featured Slideshows Photos Mon, 05 Nov 2018 14:19:56 +0200
Sun Rises for Japan https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/sun-rises-for-japan.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/sun-rises-for-japan.html juniors-3-1200

Monday 5 November 2018

It's all happening for Japan two years from the Tokyo Olympics with their first team gold medal at the world juniors, while SA's Luke Slijpen scooped a bronze in the U18 boys.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Breaking News News Mon, 05 Nov 2018 13:38:34 +0200
Hawaiian High Five O https://www.wavescape.co.za/photos/featured-slideshows/hawaiian-high-five-o.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/photos/featured-slideshows/hawaiian-high-five-o.html hawaii-1200-th

Thursday 1 November 2018

Here comes some mouth-watering waves from Hawaii hot off the press today at Sunset Beach where the QS3,000 HIC Pro presented by Vans has just completed, with the Saffas firing.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Featured Slideshows Photos Thu, 01 Nov 2018 16:57:36 +0200
Junior World https://www.wavescape.co.za/photos/featured-slideshows/junior-world.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/photos/featured-slideshows/junior-world.html juniors2-1200-th

Thursday 1 November 2018

Here's a gallery from yesterday at the world juniors event at Huntington Beach where the waves have been going off. As you know, that's an unusual thing in California.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Featured Slideshows Photos Thu, 01 Nov 2018 16:45:37 +0200
Saffas Smash It https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/saffas-smash-it.html https://www.wavescape.co.za/surf-news/breaking-news/saffas-smash-it.html devries-1200-th

Thursday 1 November 2018

A welcome record has just been broken in Hawaii, with four South Africans reaching the last 16 of the HIC Pro presented by Vans in Hawaii, and two of them making the final.

Read More...

]]>
spike@wavescape.co.za (Steve Pike) Featured Breaking News News Thu, 01 Nov 2018 16:16:34 +0200